2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 15 invisible), 2,119 guests, and 324 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1001862 05/12/06 01:11 AM
OP Offline
I have been reading the the pianist lounge forum and I always hear people talking about practicing 2-6 hours a day! I have been practicing for 4 months a probably practice about 1 hour a day almost every day. My teacher says I am progressing well, but I don't know what her standards are. Please post what your accomplishments were a 4 months so I can get an idea.

P.S. I Love Emmy Rossum

5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
A hour a day sounds excellent for someone in their first year of lessions. As you progress, you'll move on to more complex pieces and find you need and want to increase your practice time but that will come on gradually. I practice 3-5 hours a day but I certainly didn't start out that way.

Slow down and do it right.
[Linked Image]
P
P
Practice time depends on the time you can make available for your practice and on how fast you wish to progress.

I started out practicing 30 to 60 minutes each day for the first 1.5 years, and the teacher I had at that time was not very encouraging. I almost lost my joy in playing, and my progress was lousy.