2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, 13 invisible), 1,862 guests, and 258 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
I'm a newbie to classical music...can anyone tell me which are the popular editions (publishers) of music that are widely available and what their differences are? For example, which publishers are considered the best, or the most economical, the most adult-beginner-friendly...etc. I would really appreciate any comments, especially on your favorite editions. Thanks! :p

Schirmer, the yellow books, are usually the most economical. The printing is legible.

The most expensive publisher is Henle, blue cover, and also the most attractive. The page color is off-white which makes the contrast of notes to the page easier on the eyes. Also, the printing is very precise. It never looks like a photocopy the way some cheap editions do, such as Dover (although I have a Dover version of the Marriage of Figaro, full-score, which looks great) or even Schirmer.

In between Schirmer and Henle, but closer to Henle pricewise is Edition-Peters. It has a pale-yellow cover with a green border design. The page color is off-white.

Either of the latter two publishers usually include a preface and all three should have fingerings.

Henle makes an effort to be as close to the original manuscript as possible, and thus call their editions Urtext. German for original text.
Peters also has Urtext editions.

working on:
Goldberg Variations
D
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
D