2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (brdwyguy, Carey, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, danno858, 11 invisible), 1,894 guests, and 290 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Magz Offline OP
OP Offline
Greetings,

I am an early intermediate level student. One of my goals for 2009 is to work on my sight reading abilities. I am thinking the best way to do this is just to sit down for 15 - 20 minutes, each day, and sight read various short pieces by Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, etc. A new piece or section every day. Of course, this is in conjunction with my lessons. Any better suggestions from those who have already crossed this bridge?

Thanks

8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
that's what my teacher had suggested to me: sight reading 10-15 minutes a day, if only i had followed the suggestion (but i didn't).

the point is sight reading as many pieces as possible and regularly. don't worry about mistakes when you read, just keep going until you finish reading the piece and then get another one to do the same. also, another thing is to read only those at or below your playing level, which would encourage you to keep going without stopping in frustration.

i'm thinking of starting to do this regularly myself, now that i don't have to worry about teacher or lessons.

Ditto! Yes read any kind of music you have around the house. If you don't rust will develop, I guarantee. E-Z Big Notes, whatever it takes.