Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

Trying Something New with Search
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
Who's Online
102 registered (aliash, anamnesis, accordeur, augustm, 36251, 27 invisible), 915 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#1036115 - 07/11/05 04:30 AM How to use a metronome in bach invention no1.
göran Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/07/05
Posts: 1
Loc: Sweden
I am practicing the no1 Bach Invention in C major. This is my very first piece (just one own composition before). I could not resist trying it

1.) Put the metronome at 220 (=4x55) bpm and no accent
(beat on each 1/16-note).

2.) Put the metronome at 220 bpm with accent every fourth beat
(accent on each 1/4-note and beat on each 1/16-note).

3.) Just put the metronome at 55 bpm.


I Guess that 3. :rolleyes: ) is right. I manage 2. \:\) ) But not 3. \:\( )

Shall I practice 3.)

Göran/Sweden.

Top
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#1036116 - 07/11/05 08:07 AM Re: How to use a metronome in bach invention no1.
derekrs Offline
Full Member

Registered: 06/06/05
Posts: 115
Loc: Vancouver, Canada
I would just put the metronome at 55bpm. Some metronomes are able to put beats on every 8th note, 16th note, etc...you may want to use that. Personally, i wouldn't use the metronome too much. My piano teacher stresses that if you constantly use it you become dependent on it.
_________________________
"There are two golden rules for an orchestra: start together and finish together. The public doesn't give a damn what goes on in between." -- Thomas Beecham

My blog: pianotrek.blogspot.com

Top
#1036117 - 07/11/05 09:27 AM Re: How to use a metronome in bach invention no1.
signa Offline
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 06/06/04
Posts: 8483
Loc: Ohio, USA
i don't think you need metronome at all at the beginning of learning, and it's only needed to check to pace and tempo when you already have it under your fingers. use slow speed when you're in the process of getting accuracy and memorizing, and faster speed for performance.

Top

Moderator:  BB Player, casinitaly 
What's Hot!!
Why It's Impossible to Tune a Piano!
aka, why you should be nice to your tuner.
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
(ad)
Hammond A100 for Sale!
PRICE DROPPED!
(Think B3)
Hammond A100 for sale!
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad 125)
Sweetwater $55,000 Giveaway
Sweetwater $55,000 Mic Locker Giveaway
(ads)
PD - WNG - MH
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tours
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Help fixing static noise on Roland FP8
by pete3
10 minutes 32 seconds ago
Problem of Kawai mp11
by Knario
Today at 05:07 AM
Yamaha Montage
by Bachus
Today at 03:49 AM
Pianist singer or duo required.
by Anthony Johns
Today at 03:40 AM
Repeats?
by SiFi
Today at 01:05 AM
Forum Stats
83,787 Registered Members
44 Forums
172,981 Topics
2,528,493 Posts

Most users ever online: 15,252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
Sheet Music Plus (125)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2016 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission