2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
55 members (1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, Brendan, 1957, 10 invisible), 1,771 guests, and 328 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#104291 07/09/07 09:44 PM
R
Rixware Offline OP
OP Offline
R
I'm having trouble finding any information (detailed or otherwise) on a line of pianos built by Kawai for Baldwin under the Howard label in the 1970s.

My wife and I are considering the purchase of a 1973 5' 10" Howard 550-C. We are both church musicians, and I am also a composer. We live in Minnesota. This would be our first grand piano, and there is a possibility it would be used to teach lessons. We expect it to be the piano our children practice on when they get old enough.

We like the sound and the action of this instrument, and it appears to have been well-maintained. The hammers have been serviced by the dealer, at our request, to minimize a brightness it had developed with age, and we did not detect any other major issues in two sessions of evaluation.

However, we are concerned about some alligator-like checking on the finish. It's minor, but definitely visible. The dealer's technician suspects that the piano sat by a window. They say that it is not bad enough to justify the cost of repair, and they believe that the damage is wholly cosmetic. Their report says that the rim and structure are fine, but the layers of lacquer on top have been damaged. (Our technician has not yet examined the instrument.)