2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 36251, benkeys, 9 invisible), 1,931 guests, and 319 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi everyone.

I am not sure if I should post this as a new topic or not, but I couldn't seem to find a suitable thread for my question.

I have been playing the piano on and off for almost 20 years, but really just playing by ear and virtually no classical music. I have recently - let's just say in the last year or so - fallen in love with classical music.

Since then I have been practising Rachmaninoff's Prelude in C# minor, Nocturne Op.9 no 2 by Chopin and last but not least Liszt's La Campanella. The two first ones I have almost gotten through, I just need to polish my performance a wee bit more. The last one is a different story.

My question to you is this; should I, being a beginner, even consider trying to master La Campanella? Or should I find something easier to build my technique up to the point where I will be able to learn La Campanella without getting frustrated to the point of giving up...?

I am having a hard time reading music as well, seeing that I haven't looked at classical scores in almost 20 years. It takes me a long time just to figure out 4-5 measures. Should I spend my time practising this piece and making small steps forward, or would I be better off playing something else?

Any thoughts on this, anyone?

B
BDB Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B