2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
54 members (bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 36251, 20/20 Vision, 9 invisible), 1,393 guests, and 308 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
PianoMA Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Newbie here. I've been working hard at lessons for almost a year, but only now have I really had more time to devote to practicing, which I love. Here's my question: When I'm working on a piece, I get bored with it after a while. I'm not memorizing many pieces, but happy enough when I can play it through without mistakes. I often feel like I've learned as much as I can from that particular piece, & want to move on. Is this the right way to look at my practicing, or should I be memorizing more?

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
If you feel you're learning then that's great. Working on a piece isn't only playing it without mistakes, you must do music and you must give that piece a meaning, you must feel the message, the idea, the beauty...
Move on when you feel you can express something with that piece, when you feel you've worked on musicality, technique and every other aspect.

Cheers.

And in my twisted face... there's not the slightest trace of anything that even hints at kindness...
B
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
B
Hi PianoMA,

You didn't say how long you'd been playing, only that you've been taking lessons for a year so I'm a bit uncertain where you are.