2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1083754 02/20/06 03:36 PM
A
Asim Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi everyone!

I searched through some of the newbie threads and found a lot of useful information, but not everything I was looking for. So I figured I'd start my own thread with a few questions.

I'm a 22 year old University student in Canada and I've recently acquired a taste for playing music. I've been playing the acoustic guitar for about 8 months now and I try to play at least an hour a day. I enjoy learning songs via tabs and just having fun with them. I took lessons for about 3 months while I was working in the summer, but now I just am trying to improve on my own.

Recetly, I've really wanted to learn to play the piano for two reasons. Firstly, it sounds really nice and secondly, it would be really cool if at parties to pick up and play some more modern music (I listen to stuff like Coldplay, Keane, etc. I'm not huge on classical, but I enjoy it too).

From what I've read, everyone says to go with a 88 Key Electronic Piano with Weighted Keys. I think this is what I'm aiming for -- does anyone know where I can get one for fairly cheap in Canada? Or even somewhere they sell used things? Any good music forums with for sale sections?