2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, crab89, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 12 invisible), 2,045 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
K
KrisS Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hi. I'm new to PW today. I've never read or played music. However, my favorite instrument is the piano.

I'm 37 and was thinking maybe I should take the piano up as a hobby. That said, not sure where I begin.

Since I'm not 100% committed to it I don't want to invest alot of money off the gate. So I'm looking for advice regarding the piano itself. Do I go for a used older piano or buy a keyboard?

Personally, I'm thinking I should go with an older piano but then again perhaps I'd be getting more of a headache if it needs repairs, etc.

If there is anyone out there that could take me under their wing and steer me in the best direction that would be wonderful.

L
ll Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
L
Play on...-

-Keyboard: don't even think about it. Keyboards are worthless.

-Digital piano: a step up from a keyboard, but not as good as a piano. You won't need to maintain it really and you can listen with headphones; it won't get you TOO far though, but it seems most people here agree that it is okay for the first couple of years. The cheapest one I could think of is the Casio CDP 100 for $299+money for stand+money for bench, totaling to about $400. For a bit more, you can always get a better one. Take advantages of all the sales at the moment, too.