2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (36251, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, 10 invisible), 1,448 guests, and 301 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
CrisC55 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all,

I just wanted to introduce myself to the forum, and I'll be posting here often with many questions. I'm a 24 year old pianist; I started at around age 12, and I immediately learned quickly, I taught myself moonlight sonata by ear, and eventually was accepted to a local piano school near my home. I played there for about two years. Unfortunately, the school relocated, and I was no longer able to attend. For the rest of that time until now, I have basically played on my own, being self taught. I have composed many compositions, but my sight reading has diminished greatly, and although my technical ability is good, I'd like to vastly improve it. For a long time I was not able to play piano because my parents wanted me to pursue biology and the sciences. But now that I have established control, I decided to get back into it seriously last year at 23. I've improved greatly, and my ear still surprises me at how good it is. Although I don't have perfect pitch, I do have very good relative pitch and I can remember a great deal in little time. I learned the sight reading aspect. I can't read a piece and play it automatically, but I can learn a piece now on my own.