2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (Bellyman, Barly, 1957, btcomm, brennbaer, CharlesXX, Animisha, bobrunyan, 13 invisible), 1,985 guests, and 345 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1103393 09/23/04 05:58 AM
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
From reading the posts in this forum, it sounds like a person needs to work on a piece for some time in order to play it well. I'm a beginning pianist, and I have this image that once I learn how to sight read, I should be able to play any piece of music immediately upon looking it over. Kind of like learning how to read, and then being able to read any book just by pulling it off the shelf. Perhaps I have the wrong vision. Knowing how to play and how to read music does not mean a person can play anything placed in front of them?

***NOTE: Please disregard this post. I think I have found my answers in the FAQ. ***

Support our troops!
#1103394 09/23/04 07:02 AM
M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M
Hi Jerry -

once I learn how to sight read, I should be able to play any piece of music immediately upon looking it over
That would be nice wouldn't it! Unfortunately, I don't believe it will ever be that easy, regardless how advanced you are, unless you are one of the handful of true genius in this world.