2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, 6 invisible), 1,908 guests, and 290 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
OP Online Content
Hi All,

I got a comment on one of my YouTube piano videos that said they liked my piano playing but not my singing. Should I stop trying to sing and just play the piano? I know I’m not that good at either, but when somebody flat-out tells you they don’t like your playing or singing, that smarts a little. I don't know, maybe I’m spoiled from all the positive complements that I get from other members of this great forum and my friends and relatives. Or, maybe my playing and singing really does stink altogether and no one has had the courage to tell me (except the guy on YouTube).

I don’t mind constructive criticism when there is something positive to be gained that can be used to make improvements but to be told point-blank they don’t like your musical endeavors (or at least a portion of it) kind of stings a little.

Okay, thanks for listening. I feel better now smile . I guess it just goes to show that there is a lot of truth to the old saying that “you can please all the people some of the time, and some of the people all of the time, but you can’t please all the people all the time”. smile

Take care, (and don’t let anyone discourage you from learning, improving and enjoying your music thumb )

Rick