2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
51 members (20/20 Vision, 36251, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 8 invisible), 1,397 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#1125234 01/24/04 10:16 PM
Dan M Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I've been hearing about logarithmic scales with regards to piano design. What does this mean? Logarithmic with regards to tension? String length? Something else? Why would this be an advantage or not?

Just curious from a layman's perspective, but I'm also a physicist, so can handle the real explanation smile

Does anybody have any references (books or online) to basic piano design? Curious subject.

Dan

The piano is my drug of choice.
Why are you reading this? Go play the piano! Why am I writing this? ARGGG!
#1125235 01/25/04 12:34 AM
D
Del Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
Originally posted by Dan M:
I've been hearing about logarithmic scales with regards to piano design. What does this mean? Logarithmic with regards to tension? String length? Something else? Why would this be an advantage or not?

Just curious from a layman's perspective, but I'm also a physicist, so can handle the real explanation smile

Does anybody have any references (books or online) to basic piano design? Curious subject.

Dan