2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (accordeur, Carey, AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, 6 invisible), 1,891 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
saxguy Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I have been a saxophone player for 26 years and have played with the same band in manhattan for the past 12 years. I have limited piano experience but now want to take formal lessons. I know that most people start with classical and then work up to jazz. Although my theory is ok on saxophone, I realize that with the piano I will need to focus on chord structure more.

Are there teachers around that will start a new student on a jazz-based repertoire?

Bösendorfer 290
N
N
I think most people start with classical because 99.9999999999999% of music teachers aren't jazz musicians. Personally, I see no reason not to begin with jazz (modern or whatever).

nick

F
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
F
nicd,

You don't see any reason not to start with jazz, etc., because there isn't any. Jazz is a sophisticated genre, which can be as simple or as complicated as anyone could ever want.

DavidH

Hi,
Call David Budway, he is a great teacher in Manhattan and a lot of fun to be around. I'm sure the union has his number-he is the keyboardist for Tain Watts.

Rob Mullins
www.planetmullins.com
Recording Artist and Jazz Piano Instructor
N
N
Hi DavidH,

I couldn't agree more.