2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
25 members (drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, 8 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1141129 06/21/05 10:53 PM
I
OP Offline
I
Hi, everyone. I normally post in the pianist corner, so I'm new to this section of the forum. Anyways, I'm 15 years old and I mostly play classical music. But often times when I am practicing, I find myself getting carried away, sometimes for hours, making up left hand riffs, while improvising with the right.

I noticed that most of the threads on this corner were related to jazz, so I thought some of you may know a good route that would help with getting more serious into jazz and improvising. I've looked in some music stores for books that teach jazz, but most of them seemed very basic, like they were for absolute beginners.

Any suggestions?

much thanks,

-Carl
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
If you've been studying theory for awhile, go out and get yourself Mark Levine's Jazz Piano Book.

Then go out and listen to as much jazz as possible. You'll find your way.

Haywood
-------------
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
In addition to Levine's excellent book, John Mehegan has(had) a series of books which covers most ,if not all of the bases. Moreover, learning how to "apply the theory" is where it gets fun.

The 3 most important rules to remember:

Listen, Listen, Listen.
fingers

Playing piano at age 2, it was thought that I was some sort of idiot-savant. As it turns out, I'm just an idiot.
R
R