2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, 10 invisible), 1,828 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#1142499 07/11/06 02:51 AM
A
OP Offline
A
I am a very classical pianist. I try to play in a Jazz combo these days. But I found it very hard to get used to the improvisation (I have never done any improvisation before). Are there any ways or any books could help me to improve my improvisation?

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Hi Ahha smile

There is a website devoted to all things jazz piano with a huge online community who like to talk about, teach and ponder anything jazz piano related! There is already a huge amount of discussions to read that talk about classical pianists turning to jazz and the best ways to go about it.

here :- Learn jazz piano website (click)

I am sure if you ask questions in the forums over there you'll get a whole heap of help on how to go about it and the books that will help you the most smile

regards

Lee smile

Twitter: @Seaside_Lee
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
You can get MARK LEVINE'S JAZZ PIANO BOOK too. It might be a lot to swallow if you don't have a solid theory background though (you don't say whether theory was a part of your classical training).

If you're really a beginning jazzer you need to know what is meant by the typical chord symbols you will see in jazz like:

Am7 D7 Gmaj7 Cmaj7+11
F#m7b5 B7alt EmMaj7 E7b9

1)Learn how to sight read from a lead sheet