2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Hi, i'm new here...I'm just beginning piano, but my mom and brother have been playing for years so I want to get a used piano (currently have a non-weighted casio :rolleyes: )

I have a chance to buy an Everette studio/full upright for $200 and its only a few miles from my house. Looks like the "school" model i think. I will check it out this afternoon and look for serial #, mechanical noises, etc...

I've also been looking at a Heinzman console/studio (42.5in)only 45min away from me...Looks like the owner can't find the serial# but he says the first date for tuning reads to January 21, 1954. It's going for $400 but i'm sure I could get it lower because it's been on Craigslist for a month and he has been very aggressive in providing any info.

Next is a Wurlitzer studio (46in) and was recently refinished and is supposedly working nice. Its going for $500, but I don't want to go above $400 with tuning.

Which of these would any of you recommend? I know I don't have much info, but whatever you can tell me is helpful. I spoke to a piano tuner about the Everett and he said its a VERY good deal if its working.
Also I don't care too much about the finish...i'm looking for that old-school studio/upright look and sound is more important than anything.

Thanks

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member