2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (1957, Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,892 guests, and 331 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
Larry B Offline OP
OP Offline
L
I heard a forum member's recording of Schumann's Träumerei recently and was entirely taken by it....and of course have been trying to learn it. There's something in the notation that puzzles me, though. (I'm new to classical piano, so there've been the occasional bits of notation that've been new to me...)

Here's the first few measures:
[Linked Image]

On the second beat of the first full measure, there's an F triad with an extra C on the bottom. The way it's written looks like the intent is to play the F and C with the RH and the bottom C and middle-of-the-triad A with LH - crossing fingers of one hand between fingers of the other. The way it seems natural to play it is the bottom C and F with LH and the A/C third with the RH.

Why is it written this way, and how do most people play it?

BTW...here is the link to the sheet music I'm working from.

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
I think the reason is so the A can be held by the LH (as indicated by the tie) while the RH is free to play the following notes in in the treble clef.

Joe Whitehead ------ Texas Trax
R
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
R
Don't forget the Pedal sign (stylized P) - which allows notes to sound where the hand no longer is. So, in measure 2:
LH 2nd measure first beat, plays F2, then 2nd beat moves to add C3+A3 (while F2 is still sounding)