Looking for a way to bring your community together to celebrate the joys of making music? NAMM, the trade association of the international music products industry, is inviting all U.S. schools across the country to participate in Music Monday on May 4, 2009, to demonstrate the galvanizing power of making music and to kick off the National Wanna Play Music Week (May 4-8)

NAMM joined the international event for the first time last year, which inspired more than 700,000 students across North America to participate in a simultaneous concert to celebrate music education in schools. In addition, many community and professional organizations participated in the event to show their support for music education. This unifying and uplifting community initiative was initially launched by the Coalition for Music Education in Canada, and has been growing rapidly since. Australia recently held a Music Monday event of its own. The United Kingdom is considering an adapted version of its own.

This year, NAMM is encouraging even more U.S. schools and organizations to sing and play together and heighten the public’s awareness about how music education empowers children by providing them with important tools such as creativity, a sense of achievement, self-discipline and social engagement.

The official 2009 Music Monday song will be “Sing Sing” by Serena Ryder. The song (or another of your choosing) will be sung and played by all schools and participants across North America at 10 a.m. Pacific Time, 11 a.m. Mountain Time, 12 p.m. Central Time, 1 p.m. Eastern Time and 2 p.m. Atlantic Time, uniting them symbolically through one piece of music. Many arrangements are available on the Music Monday Web site at www.musicmonday.ca, in addition to an arrangement, you will have access to a support kit specifically created for elementary teachers to work with very young children.

To register your school or organization as a participant in Music Monday, and to receive your Music Monday materials please e-mail musicmonday@namm.org.
_________________________
- Frank B.
Founder / Host
www.PianoWorld.com
www.PianoSupplies.com
Find Us On:
Facebook.com/PianoWorldDotCom
Twitter.com/PianoWorld
www.youtube.com/PianoWorldDotCom
Skype: PianoWorldDotCom
Estonia L-190, Yamaha P-80, Hammond XK-3, Hammond A-100, Estey 1895 Pump Organ
-------------------------
It's Fun To Play the Piano ... PLEASE Pass It On!
And please invite everyone you know to join our piano forums!