2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
67 members (akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, accordeur, antune, 11 invisible), 1,785 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1164068 03/17/09 12:54 PM
D
OP Offline
D
Hi,

Are there any specific requirements you need to start teaching? I am currently studying grade 5 piano and one day I would really would like to be a piano teacher. That would be my dream job. Perhaps I could get there in another 8 - 10 years.

Im in my early 20s at the moment and If I keep working at it, I want the grade 8 standard.

Do you (yourself) need to be a fantasic player to teach though?

What would you say the minimum requirement is to be able to teach beginners?

An example of this is perhaps my current teacher. I like his style, I like his methods and he is a very good player. But,

He is not the kind of player who can rattle of big difficult pieces eg Polonaise 53 or Liszt etc.

That doesnt make him a bad player, but he can still teach well. Without perhaps being a really great player with amazing
technical facility.

Daoc2009
M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
Teaching piano and performing are two different things. However, a teacher must have the ability to play the repertoire they are teaching. This doesn't mean they need to be a concert pianist, as there are many concert pianists who are not gifted in teaching.