2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (bcalvanese, BillS728, APianistHasNoName, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, danno858, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1184952 04/21/09 11:27 PM
N
NM Bill Offline OP
OP Offline
N
I'm a 3 year adult student (with a teacher), currently in John Thompson book 3.

I'd like to start practicing sight reading more consistently, and have come across 2 "methods" that seem worthwhile. Any recommendations ?:

1. 4 Star Sight Reading (Berlin) Books 1-8
2. Improve Your Sight Reading (Harris) Books 1-8

A structured method is better for me, and these seem to fit that criteria. Any thoughts or experience with these ?

Other ideas ?

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Hi Bill,

Welcome to the forums.

My best suggestion on learning to sight read is to:
- Get a big stack of music.
- Arrange it from easiest to hardest.
- Put the stack of music on one side of your piano.
- Play each piece once, preferably with a metronome and not stopping.
- Once you have played it once, place it on the other side of your piano
- When you are done with this stack, get a new one and start all over again.

The only structure in the above is working from easiest to hardest. The diligence comes in playing each piece straight through, as close to tempo and without stopping. If you have to stop or if you are playing it too slow, then you should find easier pieces.