2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, Calavera, 10 invisible), 1,197 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
Caz Offline OP
OP Offline
C
This is my first post here, so hi everyone and thanks for reading my post - and sorry to dive straight in and ask a question! I'm actually a drummer and took up learning jazz standards on piano to improve my ability to play them more melodically on drums - but I started to really enjoy playing the piano and now my aim is to be able to be able to play piano in a band situation aswell.

My sight reading/theory is good enough that I've been able to learn the heads of tunes with my right hand, and play the chords suggested in the Real Book with my left hand (in root position). I got pretty good at doing that with heaps of tunes and then started playing the root note with my left hand and the 3rd/7th notes of the chords with my right hand, with the melody note on top (if the melody note wasn't already included in the chord). I was doing the inversions of the 3rd and 7th notes in such a way that they would move as easily as possible onto the 3rd/7th notes for the next chord. I just wanted to ask where I should be aiming to go if I'm practicing these tunes in such a systematic way - I've heard that pianists don't play root notes and leave that to the bass player, is there a systematic way I can practice these tunes that's more relevant to how jazz pianists play in trios/quartets?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and thanks again for reading!
Caz

E