2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (bcalvanese, 1957, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 36251, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 8 invisible), 1,401 guests, and 308 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 24 of 37 1 2 22 23 24 25 26 36 37
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Dear Alfredo,

I am a musician, but not a piano tuner or theoretician. Nevertheless, please allow me a question:

Imagine an ET tuning that
a) has the temperament octave size between 4:2 and 6:3,
b) is stretched so that 12ths and 15ths are equal-beating.

Is there any difference between this and CHAS? If there are differences, could you please elaborate on them?

Autodidact interested in piano technology.
1970 44" Ibach, daily music maker.
1977 "Ortega" 8' + 8' harpsichord (Rainer Schütze, Heidelberg)
P
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
P
I can answer this. The CHAS tuning has progressive beat rates in the 5ths over the whole of the keyboard. The narrowest 5th is A3-E4, approximately 1/2bps. The 5ths get wider from here, approaching pure in the bass, and eventually becoming wide in the top treble. Where this happens depends on the inharmonicity of the piano - keeping the equal beating octaves and 12ths causes the 5ths to widen (become less narrow then pure then wide) at a rate dependent on the inharmonicity.