2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (brennbaer, accordeur, antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,808 guests, and 316 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
K
Kubalit Offline OP
OP Offline
K
I have already looked at the topic located in the FAQs. From what I read, the thread is basically saying I need to count aloud while playing. Although I appreciate the fact that this might help others, it most definitely hasn't changed anything for me. I have been playing since I was 6 or 7 years old, and have already completed such songs as chopin's Scherzo no. 2 and revetude (almost 17 y.o. now). However, if you asked me to sight read something as simple as Bach's first minuet, I stumble all over the place. The main thing is playing with both my hands. My teacher always stressed beginning by playing with hands seperate, so that's how I learned to read music - playing with just my left, then just my right. At the moment, not being able to sight read is probably my biggest problem. I've spent hours upon hours practicing, but it's almost as if I have a mental barrier that prevents me from sight-reading fluently. I know the skill is there, lying dormant, but I just can't coax it out. At times, I'll have fleeting moments in which I can sight read pretty well, but then it all goes away. Can anyone give me some tips? My current piano teacher is trying to help me as well, but he's getting almost as frustrated as I am.

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M