2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
41 members (alexcomoda, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,157 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
I'm getting a keyboard for my birthday and I've researched both keyboards and I like both of them, but I can't seem to decide between the two. I'm a beginner, so I don't know that much about keyboards. Could someone help me out?

-Christian

V
V
Do you want to learn to play the Piano? Or do you want to be able to play a lot of different sounds?

If yes, then the PX-120 offers a weighted keyboard similar to other Digital Pianos and acoustic pianos. The Yamaha does not.

The Yamaha offers several voices - the Casio does not offer more than 11 voices.

I see the Yamaha as a keyboard with 88 keys and the Casio as a Digital Piano, i.e. a digital emulation of an acoustic piano.

It's your call - you need to know what you want to do with it.

FYI - the YPG 635 provide a weighted keyboard like the Casio PX series and a lot of sounds like the YPG-535.

B
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
B
Why would anyone consider the YPG-535 at all when the YPG-635 is available?

The 535 is just an oversized keyboard with no Piano qualities at all, I really believe that it needs to be discontinued.

The 635 on the other hand is a full Digital Piano with fully weighted and also graded keys, as well as there being a full optional pedal unit available.