2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1217833 06/15/09 11:15 PM
6000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Our favorite piano... But, a very good customer.

I've been tuning this piano like clockwork every year for the past 25 years or more during the last week in January. Very well taken care of except for the fact that the rubber grommets were getting very noisy and brittle.

Today, I took the action to my shop. Remember how they put in those screws? Those 20 foot long screws? RAM them in without pre-drilling or proper sized drilling? What a miserable thing to take apart! Even the fall board screws were jammed in. I had all I could do to get them out without stripping the slot in the flat head screws.

Then, I had to literally jam the grommets off from the keys as carefully as possible with a screwdriver. No way could I pull them off they were like, frozen in place. It was then, that I discovered sometime in the past year or two, I hadn't noticed it before, there was mice [censored] all over the place. On the stickers, the threads, the grommets, prongs on the ends of the keys etc. What a fricken mess. Talk about RUST??? It's all over those parts.