2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (David B, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, dh371, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, 10 invisible), 1,199 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
N
nan Offline OP
OP Offline
N
I've been playing piano for about 7 years and have reached intermediate level. I'm really enjoying the journey, but still wonder when I'll be able to play the pieces at the correct speed or at least closer to the correct speed.

Does this happen to intermediate players -- and then do you pick easier pieces?

I posted this question to teachers and received some excellent tips which I am putting to use. Just wondered if others have had this happen. Going slow is very good to learn techniques, I just want it to sound more like the CD recording!

E
E
What exactly is 'intermediate'?

I always thought intermediate meant not a beginner and not a concert pianist.

Also, what's a beginner or a concert pianist?
Is there any internationally recognized method to level a pianist?

N
nan Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Well, it means not a beginner! Let's say intermediate is finishing Alfred's Level three and moving on to what is called intermediate in the piano essential keyboard lit.

Hey, nobody else has this happen? You can all play at the correct speed before moving on to the next piece?

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member