2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, Colin Miles, 36251, 12 invisible), 2,158 guests, and 339 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1217296 06/14/09 06:28 PM
agent3x Offline OP
OP Offline
I'm not a teacher, so sorry if this is in the wrong place! I thought I could get some good insight from teachers here, though.

I've been playing for a few years already, focusing mostly on theory because I can teach that to myself, but I'd like to learn more about the technical aspects of playing and also work on ear-training.

I just went to Google and searched "piano lessons in [City]," but I'm sure there's a better way to find a teacher. I guess I'm mostly worried about getting stuck with a fraud. As teachers, how do you advertise? What are some things I should look for to make sure someone is who he or she claims to be?

Also, I suppose I'm technically an adult, although I'm still a student living with my parents and certainly don't feel like an adult. I don't know if teachers generally do anything special for adult learners. Are they treated differently because they can be expected to grasp material more quickly, because they have busy schedules of their own, or because they can pay a little more for lessons? wink

E
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
I charge the same no matter the level, and I think (from what I've read here) others do too.

I would start by asking around. If you don't know anyone, than call the schools and music stores, they usually have lists.