2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1234680 07/21/09 07:36 AM
Nishita Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello all,

I have been learning to play for a few months now and I own a Yamaha keyboard. But I realise more and more that should really buy a digital piano with weighted keys.

Has anyone used Casio's CDP-100 or the CDP-200R? I would appreciate any suggestions/criticism

Thanks,
Nishita

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
I saw a CDP-200 at the Casio Showroom where I bought my PX-720. It's the newer version of CDP-100.I think it's a pretty good deal for the features. It has an LCD screen where you can see the notes you're playing, lots of rhythms, voices, features like an arpeggiator and transpose, and I think you can hook up an mp3 player to the speakers and play along with it (I remember seeing it on the brochure). However, I was still hardly able to play a note when I tried it out so I can't give a good judgment regarding its tone. It uses an older sound source (ZPI vs. the newer AIF), but I didn't notice anything drastically different from the PX series in the noisy showroom. The weighted keys are on the heavy side, typical of Casio. I don't know it comes with a pedal, though.

Working on: Schumann Album for the Young, Clementi Op 36 No. 1 (all movements), Various Bach, Czerny 599
+ CASIO PX-720 and PX-730 +
V
V