2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,130 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1238458 07/27/09 08:24 PM
B
OP Offline
B
I am a adult beginner (Grade 1), and I have been playing a digital piano. Thinking about getting an acoustic to last me for several years ( with the aim of completing Grade 8)

I have been looking at Kawai K3 but tempted to get a baby grand GM10. I know the grand has the space issue, but is it worth the extra $4000.00 for sound quality and feel to develop skills for classical ???

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Go for the grand piano. Repetition sensitivity will serve you well on your way to grade 8.

Co-Author of The Complete Idiot's Guide To Buying A Piano. A "must read" before you shop.
Work for west coast dealer for Yamaha, Schimmel, Bosendorfer, Wm. Knabe.
A
AJF Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
A
I agree with Marty all the way.

Jazz/Improvising Pianist, Composer, University Prof.
At home: C. Bechstein Concert 8, Roland RD88
At work: Kawai GX2, Dave Smith Prophet Rev2 16-voice
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
How do you like the sound and feel, Benjo?

Clef

B
OP Offline
B
Jeff:

To my untrained ears, I thought the resonance of the bass in K3 was signficantly less pleasant. I can't tell much difference on the feel playing the keys, except it is lighter on the K3 (if that is the word) than the grand.