2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (AlkansBookcase, cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 6 invisible), 1,235 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1238640 07/28/09 02:56 AM
OP Offline
Hey Teachers!

Im a piano student that has played now for a bit over half a year. However i can't really read sheet music, and I'm playing things that are around level 5-6 and i really want to learn sheet music.

Is there like any kind of trick to help learning sheet music faster, any kind f activity maybe? Or just tips on how to remember the different notes would help too laugh

Any help is much appreciated laugh Thanks

C
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
C
If you can't read sheet music then how did you manage the Chopin and Beethoven?

Pianist and piano teacher.
E
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
I don't understand your problem. Reading sheet music is no different than reading any other music.

Are you talking about that 3rd staff that is not played on the piano? Cover it with sticky notes.

Do you usually play by "ear"? Then you need to start from the beginning and learn to read ALL music.

Originally Posted by Chris H.

I'm wondering the same thing...

Sorry, I can't be of more help until I understand your question better.

It is better to be kind than to be right.

Professional private piano teacher since 1994.
M
M