2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, 10 invisible), 2,102 guests, and 307 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I'm an adult amateur & I intend to ask my teacher this question soon. I just wanted to get an idea from another source first. If she says no, I'm not going to argue with her as I'm just playing as a labor of love. But I'd love to start one.

Here is a sample of what I have learned or am working on:

Various P&F from Bach WTC (both books)
Various Scarlatti sonatas
Chopin Preludes & Mazurkas
Schumann Kinderscene
Brahms Rhapsody Op. 79 #2 (currently working on)

I'm just curious if there's another level of material I should work on before any Etudes. If so, I'd be happy to hear suggestions. If the above list is sufficient then whats a good one to start with ? I'd love to tackle the Winter Wind one but perhaps thats too much to start....?

I welcome your opinions !

S
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
S
I'm an adult amateur like you, but I'm curious whether you think you are ready and what your pianistic goals are for the future (i.e., the technical level or sort of repertoire you hope to reach).

You probably already know that the technical challenges in Chopin's etudes differ in kind and in degree. By anybody's estimation, 25/11 is one of the hardest; opinions differ about which ones are best to start with, but in my opinion the Trois Nouvelles in f minor (#25) and A-flat (#26 or #27, depending on the edition) are less difficult technically than any of Opp. 10 or 25.