2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, accordeur, 11 invisible), 1,801 guests, and 296 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I
ixg120 Offline OP
OP Offline
I
I am new to PW and I am hoping to get an advice on 2 pianos I am trying to choose between. I found a new Kawai K-2 mahogany finish at a local college sale for $5150 (includes tax,delivery, and tunning) and I also found CX5H at CL for $2000. I want to buy it for a 5 y.o. girl who is about to start taking classes. Thanks in advance.

M
M
I was just quoted $4899 (cash), no sales tax, no delivery (in exchange for our starter piano), plus 3 tunings for a new K3 here in PA. My wife and I are very tempted. Perhaps there is room to negotiate the K2 price in TX? I don't know what the variation in price is from region to region.

On the other hand, someone in Philly just posted on Craigslist a 5 year old Kawai RX-2 grand piano for $5000. Unfortunately, we just do not have the space for a grand piano or else I'd seriously look into that Craigslist ad. And I'm not going to mention this to my wife or else she'll start thinking of knocking down walls inside the house and a $5000 piano will end up costing $50,000 more.

Mr. Peabody

F
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
F
ixg120, college sales are notoriously bad venues for auditioning and/or buying pianos. If you like the K-2's tone, go to a showroom. You can get the same delivery/tuning package for less, and you'll have time to actually listen to the piano.

5000 Post Club Member