2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, 6 invisible), 1,286 guests, and 285 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1262682 09/04/09 10:58 PM
M
MeowR Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hi. I just started learning piano in this year, well really, a few weeks ago. I have been playing acoustic guitar on and off since i was 11 or 12 (I'm 20), been singing on and off just about as long, and really just started playing the piano (in my college newbie class) and taking up vocal lessons at the same time.

I like music. (though I just switched my major from Music to Comp. Engineering, but that's another story.)

Anyway I was in the market for a digital piano because I need to be able to practice on something other than my Axiom 49 (bleh) and flat out can't afford an acoustic piano (plus I practice late after work so, can't be loud) To tell you the truth, I have no idea what an acoustic piano feels like, but I wanted to get a weighted piano for sure..

So I looked around town, local store L&M Music, and also Guitar Center if only to know what I'm looking at pricewise, and the feel of the pianos. I noticed that the Casio keys are weighted a lot heavier than the Yamaha's out on display. I'm on a tight budget looking at $600 or less. I like the Casio keys because their heavier. Makes it feel more tangible, but then again I have no experience with pianos.