2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (HZPiano, admodios, johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, 7 invisible), 1,274 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1264821 09/08/09 07:19 PM
L
OP Offline
L
Hello Im new to tuning. I just started about 2 months ago I have learned to detect beats but I have some confusion. When listenng for the beats I hear a few different beats (possibly each harmonic above the fundamental.)If that makes any sense which beat should I listen for.

Also what is the proper way to use the tuning lever. I see some guys moving it in a smooth motion while other tuners use a jerking motion.

Any replies will be appreciated

Tuning is more learning what not to listen to than what to listen to. Sometimes a smoothe motion workd great and other times it takes some jerking. The biggest secret to tuning is practice and the best help you could ever have is to be able to work with a tuner. It's going to be a lot tougher without a mentor.

E
E
You need to find which harmonics are nearly coincidental, those would be the ones that produce the beats in that interval.

It might help if you first play the actual notes that would match the nearly coincidental partials to try to listen "where" the beats will be beating.

Greg Seagraves is right, tuning is not easy. Find an experienced tech, get in contact with your local PTG chapter, look for a formal piano technology programme.

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member