2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (johnesp, drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, 7 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Manachi Offline OP
OP Offline
Recommendations for good Jazz books?

Hi all,

I want to buy a few books through Amazon, and was wanting to know if anyone could make any recommendations? I'm a beginner to jazz, but am originally classically trained - would anyone be able to recommend a good, not too complex, but but not too basic book of Jazz standards? Have recently been doing Autumn Leaves with my teacher which I've been thoroughly enjoying.

Also on the theory side of things, I've seen the book "Jazz Piano" by Mark Levine mentioned a few times and was thinking about buying that, unless anyone recommends otherwise, or can suggest something better? I had a quick read of the opening couple of pages in the store and it looked quite interesting. I've currently been reading a book called "Jazz Theory and Practise" by Richard L. Lawn & Jeffrey L. Hellmer - which is not too bad, but doesn't seem as 'inspired' as Jazz Piano.

Any other tips or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Manachi

3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
The jazz piano book is a great book. A lot of fun to read. It's more of a reference than anything else, but it will really understand the theory side of things. It is a good complement to the teacher.