2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (clothearednincompo, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, 5 invisible), 1,109 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I've played piano for years, but my sight-reading was terrible (almost "non-existent"). So 1 year and 9 months ago I started practicing sight-reading about two hours per day every day ( click here for more info).

You can get a feeling for where I stand by clicking here.

I've made a lot of progress, but I expected much more. True, I've been at it less than two years, but I'll bet that few students have read through as much material as I have, even in 10 years.

So, please comment on the progress I've made.

Did I progress slower because I am 55 years old?

Did I progress slowly because there is a time component involved (e.g. you can't improve twice as fast by practicing twice as much)?

Have I been practicing too much?

Looking forward to your insight...

F
F
An important component of sight-reading is learning to sightread at tempo. To do this, most of us have to learn how to leave out notes that aren't necessary. For instance, make sure you hit the downbeats, and the main bass note. Just skip over any unnecessary flourishes, and even offbeats. For sightreading purposes, I think it's better to play closer to tempo and leave out half the notes if necessary while practicing. So you need to look ahead and also process which of the notes are important to hit.