2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Colin Miles, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, ChickenBrother, Barly, 9 invisible), 2,067 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
btb, you missed out the accents!

M
M
I'm sorry if this doesn't help much with arm tension, but when I studied this etude, I noticed that you never had to stretch the (right) hand more than an octave, and rarely an octave at all.

If you let your arm glide your hand over the keys, you should still maintain a good legato and keep all of the accents, without stretching the hand to any discomforting level.

S
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
S
Originally Posted by AZNpiano
I'd just re-finger the awkward passages. Don't do the 2-4 stretch. It's very bad for your hand. And I wouldn't legato everything. It's a death wish at 176 if you try to legato every single note in the R.H.

With respect, I think it's as obvious that R.H. legato has as little relevance to this piece as handspan: none. You "wouldn't legato everything" because you can't.

There's no reason to think that anything in this piece is "very bad" for the hand when played with the correct mechanism. I'm convinced that here, as elsewhere in Chopin, persistent trouble of the sort found by the OP is evidence that the proper technique hasn't been found and isn't being employed.