2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 13 invisible), 1,868 guests, and 261 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1279554 10/02/09 06:04 PM
C
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
C
In reading over the recent thread, "Traps new teachers fall into", I was glad to read one advice tip--focus on quality rather than quantity. As a returning teacher I have often read how important it is to hold beginner students' interest by assigning several pieces of music a week. My transfer student had taken lessons for 8 months prior to coming to me. He arrived at his first lesson with 3 performance books, Hanon, Schmidt, 1 theory and 1 lesson book! He is in second grade. Yet, with every piece he's played for me, there is an obvious lack of keyboard familiarity, hesitation, etc. I would prefer one piece learned thoroughly over many that are stuymbled through. I am really interested to know what our new generation (and prior generations) of teachers feel about quality vs. quantity. When I was in college, we would work a piece forever if need be, until it was played well.

A
A
FYI I am of a prior generation and prefer quality over quanity.