2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, accordeur, antune, 11 invisible), 1,785 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hello PW doodes and dudettes,

After seeing the numerous posts on teacher vs self taught over the last few months I thought I would post my experiences for anyone that's interested! smile

I started out wanting to learn to play nice jazz/gospel style chords and movements to use in my own music. I tried books, DVDs, endless hours scouring youtube, trying to figure out stuff on my own and hardly learnt anything of real value.

I had been teaching myself for about a year and a half and had 2 short term piano teachers who were useless, just wanting me to learn pieces out of jazz books rather than teaching what chords are in those books and why they work. Both teachers where at grade 6 (uk) and where teaching while going to music college themselves (so it was a bit of extra cash for them rather than a profession).

After a long time feeling as though I wasn't getting anywhere on my own I took the plunge and found a proper (albeit expensive) jazz piano teacher. My first lesson he asked me to just play something which I did using some of my pretty chords I like to play. He then asked me to tell him every chord I just played and I couldn't, it turns out they where just inversions some using sharp 11s or flat 5s or whatever I had copied from youtube but I hadn't learnt them properly from the ground up.