2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Cheeto717, 12 invisible), 1,880 guests, and 264 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1302065 11/09/09 12:47 PM
S
spatial Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I have been recruited to play harpsichord for a Messiah sing next month, with a full orchestra. However, I have very little experience with the harpsichord beyond fooling around every now and then. Luckily, the part is a full realization. Does anyone have any advice for someone who has a month to sound like he knows how to play the harpsichord?

B
BDB Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
Try it out beforehand. The touch is very different, as the harpsichord plays at the top of the stroke, rather than the bottom. If you are practicing on a piano, practice without the damper pedal. There is no pedal on the harpsichord.

Semipro Tech
M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M
Some DPs have a pretty good harpsichord sound. That would allow you to preserve your experience with the touch of a piano but still get the sound you need for the concert.

Yamaha P90, Kawai GL-10
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
This is a huge subject, covering many topics. Most people assume it is nearly the same as playing a piano, but there are quite a few differences; a few lessons with a harpsichordist can be very helpful.

Often the keyboards will have reverse-color keys, but the perceived 'strangeness' will go away after a few minutes. Try to spend time with the instrument well in advance of the first rehearsal.