2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (bcalvanese, BillS728, APianistHasNoName, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, danno858, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi first of all im new here, and my doubt is at what tempo I should play this one?

Living my life in notes, and inside a piano.
D
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
D
Well, "largo e mesto" means slow and sad. Is that good enough? Or what did you mean?

(I'm a piano teacher.)
OP Offline
Sad that was what i didn't understand before, thanx Beethoven didnt use pedal in this one right> or at least my copies dont have any pedals

D
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
D
I don't know exactly what Beethoven marked, because I don't have my good copy of the Beethoven sonatas next to me - but I think it would be a big mistake to say "no pedal allowed" in this movement. You will probably need to use the pedal quite a bit.

(I'm a piano teacher.)
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
What edition of this Sonata are you using?

Beethoven rarely indicated use of pedal in his Sonatas, but it would be a mistake to assume that, because there are no pedal indications in your edition, you should not use the pedal. Use of the pedal is dependent upon a certain knowledge of the style of music and what is appropriate to that style and what is not. Certainly, in this Sonata I would use the damper pedal - judiciously.

Regards,

BruceD
- - - - -
Estonia 190
btb Offline
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member