2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Adam Reynolds, AJMurphy, Barry_Braksick, AlkansBookcase, APianistHasNoName, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, 7 invisible), 1,590 guests, and 218 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
Gkrypt Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hi I'm new here, and also completely brand new to piano's. I'm in college right now and plan on taking a Basic Piano class in the fall, but it requires that I have some kind of basic knowledge on playing the piano.

I just want to know how you guys would self teach yourselves how to play, like what DVD's or books or programs you guys would recommend a complete beginner to follow.

Thanks.

M
MiM Offline
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M
Go to the Alfred Adult Beginners Forum, and buy the first book.

G
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
G
I don't think the basic knowledge
required would be much, since the course
itself is in basic piano. Apparently,
all you'd need to know is how
to read music and some minimal
experience in playing the piano.

I'd suggest getting an inexpensive
61-key portable keyboard. These
can be had for less than $100.
Make sure it comes with the factory
AC adaptor included in the box,
because many don't come
with one, and finding
an adaptor that fits can be
almost impossible. If you go
to a store and they try to throw
in a "universal" adaptor, have
them open up everything right
there and prove the adaptor fits,
because chances are it won't.

As for instruction, there is tons
of it free online, and so you
might not have to buy anything.
In any case, the first book
in any instructional series