Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

Trying Something New with Search
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
101 registered (augustm, AndrewJCW, AZ_Astro, Anticlock, accordeur, AmandaH, 29 invisible), 1053 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Topic Options
#1320479 - 12/07/09 04:10 PM Is it possible?
Vid_w Offline
Full Member

Registered: 09/24/09
Posts: 188
Loc: Slovenia
So, I was thinking...
Is it possible, to let's say connect a DP to a computer vie MIDI or USB-MIDI, run it through pianoteq and connect the output from the computer to the DPs speakers via Audio In?

See, the thing is, I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
So, what equipment would I need besides the obvious, the CLP, MIDI interface, pianoteq and a computer...?
What kind of cable would I need to connect the computers output to the DPs input, if I wanted stereo sound?

Thanks!

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Kawai Superb Stage Piano and Controller

Click Here


#1320492 - 12/07/09 04:25 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
Masume Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/28/09
Posts: 90
Loc: Germany
I'm am doing just that, all you need to do is exactly what you just described ^^
If your DP is too old to support Midi per USB I'm not sure what your options are, I have it connected using an old soundcards Gameport, an adapter and a DIN cables, but I think there are USB/midi adapters of some kind.
To connect stereosound you don't need anything special. I assume your Piano has two RCA connectors on its back like mine and your PC's soundcard has standart 3,5mm TRS connector, so all you need is the fitting stereo TRS conncetor plug to stereo RCA connector plug cable...
That sound a bit complicated, maybe I'm using the wrong vocabulary, in German that wouldn't sound half as technical ^^

Top
#1320495 - 12/07/09 04:27 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
feeble Offline
Full Member

Registered: 08/24/09
Posts: 141
Loc: South Dakota
Could you use external speakers plugged into your computer? A good set would probably give better sound than the built in speakers. I'm doing something similar:

CDP-100 > midi to usb cable > netbook (with synthfont, a large grand piano soundfont, & ASIO4ALL) > external monitors

I do think the sound is better than the Casio built in speakers and piano sound.

I don't have the cash for Pianoteq and my netbook doesn't really have the horsepower to do it justice, but those are two future upgrades I am considering.



Edited by feeble (12/07/09 04:29 PM)
_________________________
Be the change you want to see in the world - Gandhi

Studiologic SL-990xp | Ivory II Grands | Pianoteq | Alicia's Keys

Top
#1320549 - 12/07/09 05:54 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
ChrisA Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 12/28/08
Posts: 3841
Loc: Redondo Beach, California
Originally Posted By: Vid_w
So, I was thinking...
Is it possible, to let's say connect a DP to a computer vie MIDI or USB-MIDI, run it through pianoteq and connect the output from the computer to the DPs speakers via Audio In?

See, the thing is, I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
So, what equipment would I need besides the obvious, the CLP, MIDI interface, pianoteq and a computer...?
What kind of cable would I need to connect the computers output to the DPs input, if I wanted stereo sound?

Thanks!


If your computer has built-in audio and you are happy with it's quality then a cable with the "right" ends on it is all you need. This would be a kind of "splitter cable" that looks like a "Y". They are easy to find. If you are using an external audio interface then, a pair of cables would be needed. Either way, not a big deal.

Top
#1320680 - 12/07/09 09:45 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
MacMacMac Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/24/09
Posts: 4282
Loc: North Carolina
Originally Posted By: Vid_w
I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
If I understand you correctly, the problem is 1-layer sampling. You want better dynamic response, right?

If so, external speakers won't solve that problem.

But Pianoteq might be a good solution for you. You'll need the MIDI connection for that.

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
Shop our Store for Music Lovers!
PianoSupplies.com is Piano World's Online Store
Please visit our store today.
(ad) Teaching Children Music
Teaching Music to Children
(ad) Yamaha Stage Pianos
Yamaha CP4 & CP40 Stage Pianos
(ads) PD - WNG - MH
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tours
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Had to Pass on some Work Today.....
by Musicdude
09/03/15 12:30 AM
Manufacturing year of a Willis & co upright piano
by TTND
09/02/15 10:14 PM
Member Recordings posts
by Arghhh
09/02/15 08:09 PM
My personal comparison of pianos in €900-€1200 range.
by bitnick
09/02/15 04:24 PM
dynamics and reprise question
by iamanders
09/02/15 03:59 PM
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Forum Stats
80,605 Registered Members
44 Forums
166,636 Topics
2,441,497 Posts

Most users ever online: 15,252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2015 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission