Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician
SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
Ad (Piano Sing)
How to Make Your Piano Sing
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
Who's Online
126 registered (A Guy, 36251, accordeur, Alan Cyr, Abby Pianoman, 35 invisible), 1524 Guests and 20 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Topic Options
#1320479 - 12/07/09 04:10 PM Is it possible?
Vid_w Offline
Full Member

Registered: 09/24/09
Posts: 188
Loc: Slovenia
So, I was thinking...
Is it possible, to let's say connect a DP to a computer vie MIDI or USB-MIDI, run it through pianoteq and connect the output from the computer to the DPs speakers via Audio In?

See, the thing is, I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
So, what equipment would I need besides the obvious, the CLP, MIDI interface, pianoteq and a computer...?
What kind of cable would I need to connect the computers output to the DPs input, if I wanted stereo sound?

Thanks!

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Special Financing on Digital Keyboards

Click Here


#1320492 - 12/07/09 04:25 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
Masume Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/28/09
Posts: 90
Loc: Germany
I'm am doing just that, all you need to do is exactly what you just described ^^
If your DP is too old to support Midi per USB I'm not sure what your options are, I have it connected using an old soundcards Gameport, an adapter and a DIN cables, but I think there are USB/midi adapters of some kind.
To connect stereosound you don't need anything special. I assume your Piano has two RCA connectors on its back like mine and your PC's soundcard has standart 3,5mm TRS connector, so all you need is the fitting stereo TRS conncetor plug to stereo RCA connector plug cable...
That sound a bit complicated, maybe I'm using the wrong vocabulary, in German that wouldn't sound half as technical ^^

Top
#1320495 - 12/07/09 04:27 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
feeble Offline
Full Member

Registered: 08/24/09
Posts: 141
Loc: South Dakota
Could you use external speakers plugged into your computer? A good set would probably give better sound than the built in speakers. I'm doing something similar:

CDP-100 > midi to usb cable > netbook (with synthfont, a large grand piano soundfont, & ASIO4ALL) > external monitors

I do think the sound is better than the Casio built in speakers and piano sound.

I don't have the cash for Pianoteq and my netbook doesn't really have the horsepower to do it justice, but those are two future upgrades I am considering.



Edited by feeble (12/07/09 04:29 PM)
_________________________
Be the change you want to see in the world - Gandhi

Studiologic SL-990xp | Ivory II Grands | Pianoteq | Alicia's Keys

Top
#1320549 - 12/07/09 05:54 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
ChrisA Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 12/28/08
Posts: 3841
Loc: Redondo Beach, California
Originally Posted By: Vid_w
So, I was thinking...
Is it possible, to let's say connect a DP to a computer vie MIDI or USB-MIDI, run it through pianoteq and connect the output from the computer to the DPs speakers via Audio In?

See, the thing is, I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
So, what equipment would I need besides the obvious, the CLP, MIDI interface, pianoteq and a computer...?
What kind of cable would I need to connect the computers output to the DPs input, if I wanted stereo sound?

Thanks!


If your computer has built-in audio and you are happy with it's quality then a cable with the "right" ends on it is all you need. This would be a kind of "splitter cable" that looks like a "Y". They are easy to find. If you are using an external audio interface then, a pair of cables would be needed. Either way, not a big deal.

Top
#1320680 - 12/07/09 09:45 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]
MacMacMac Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/24/09
Posts: 3866
Loc: North Carolina
Originally Posted By: Vid_w
I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
If I understand you correctly, the problem is 1-layer sampling. You want better dynamic response, right?

If so, external speakers won't solve that problem.

But Pianoteq might be a good solution for you. You'll need the MIDI connection for that.

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!

Happy Thanksgiving!
Happy Thanksgiving!
(ad) Yamaha CP Music Rest Promo
Yamaha CP Music Rest Promo
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Seiler Pianos
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
(ad) Piano Music Sale - Dover Publications
Piano Music Sale
Sheet Music Plus (125)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
New Topics - Multiple Forums
1875 legs and lyre where to get?
by Klavimaniac
7 minutes 19 seconds ago
"It Don't mean A Thing (If it Ain't...
by prout
Today at 04:43 PM
Yamaha CP33?
by Possum SP280Krome
Today at 04:16 PM
E4 Just Won't Come Into Tune
by Cobra1365
Today at 03:49 PM
10k budget for a piano in SW Ontario
by bogdan101
Today at 03:47 PM
Forum Stats
77071 Members
42 Forums
159405 Topics
2341602 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
Gift Ideas for Music Lovers!
Find the Perfect Gift for the Music Lovers on your List!
Visit our online store today.

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission