2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (booms, Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 12 invisible), 2,041 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
H
OP Offline
H
So I'm a pretty new student, I've been teaching myself on and off (mostly off) for years, but started formal lessons about three months ago.

My instructor currently has me doing
-Scales
-Timing/rhythm exercises
-Etudes
-Two short repertoire pieces at my level (e.g. Bach's Minuet in G)
-A "fun" piece from a Fake Book that we use to also discuss some theory (chords, etc)

The problem is, I dislike the "fun" stuff. Yeah, I'll talk about it with him later -- but the point I'm going to ask about remains.
How do you find the motivation to practice the pieces you find uninteresting, especially when you have limited practice time that you can more than fill up with the pieces you like?
I play piano for fun, but someday I'd like to join an amateur group, and I'm sure there will be times when I'm less than enthused about the the pieces we choose to play. Or I know some people dislike scales and/or etudes but force themselves through it (I actually happen to like those, so it's not a problem for me).

So what tips do you have, or what tricks do you use, to make yourself put down the pieces you love and pick up the pieces you may not?

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member