2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
31 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, 9 invisible), 1,226 guests, and 272 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1326949 12/16/09 08:14 PM
P
pixels Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Quick search on the topic didn't return what I was looking for. I guess this is a HUGE subject matter but I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction.
I am looking for a very user friendly, intuitive software for recording music. This is for my personal enjoyment only. I have never used music software before.

It seems like there are different SW for notating music and recording music and composing music. Can these exist in one software?

What I am after is the ability to record multi tracks and being able to visually see where I am in a piece. Then the aility to record it as MP3 and have it play back on my keyboard.
So what would be a good starting point. Thanks very much.

Peter

C
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
C
If you own an Apple Mac then you can already do all the things you describe. They are shipped with this software pre-installed. It's called "Garage Band". Look for it in the applications folder.

If you are still using Windows then you will need to buy a USB audio/MIDI interface in order to hook up your instruments and microphone. Look for an interface that comes bundled with "Cubase". This software is likey the third most commonly used software for what you want. And getting it bundled for free is the best way to get it.