2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, brennbaer, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 12 invisible), 1,867 guests, and 322 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Is CLP 550 too old a model? I just started learning piano 3 months ago. I've been practicing on friend's baby grand. I'd like to get something for myself so that I can practice more. But living in an apartment doesn't allow me to get a acoustic one.

Thank you very much for your advice.

M
M
With digital pianos, they get outdated much faster than acoustics, which can be passed on for decades. Are you getting the older model because of your budget?

I can't speak personally for the CLP 550, but I've played one of the CVP series and I just love how they have beautiful sounding voices and was thinking about buying one myself.

G
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
G
I would maybe be a little hesitant
about getting a piano for yourself.
Piano can be funny. Practicing
on your friend's grand may be
why piano has been so
enjoyable for you thus far. If you
start practicing at home, that can
change the dynamic drastically and
take most of the enjoyment out of it.
And you should probably not be concerned
about imposing on your friend.
He maybe enjoys the fact that you're
using his piano, which is a part of
the current dynamic. Grand pianos are
notorious for ending up as never-used
pieces of living room furniture.

P
OP Offline
P
I don't want to use/keep digital piano for long term. Therefore the new CLPs are too expensive.

2000 Post Club Member