2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, 4 invisible), 1,228 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1340772 01/04/10 06:30 PM
CebuKid Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Hi Everyone,

Since I started the Joplin thread here a month ago, I just thought I'd share my latest upload with you.

PS-I'm normally a poster on the adult beginner's forum, because yes, I'm an adult beginner. This was the first Joplin piece that I learned last year, my first full year in my return to piano. smile

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnfz5c_pdA4

YouTube Channel
Scott Joplin Repertoire

Music washes away from the soul
the dust of everyday life.
- Berthold Auerbach

[Linked Image]
N
N
Very Good, Sir!!!

E
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
Well done! Now try something. Play it again but keep your foot off the pedal. Yes, RIGHT off! Put a book or something under it so it won't go down at all. Then it will be a little under-pedalled, instead of massively blurred by over-pedaling.

CebuKid Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Exalted Wombat, yes some others on the ABF stated the same thing - too much pedal, and I admit my version was a little muddy in a few spots. thanks for the tip.

Pedaling technique, since I choose to use pedal in ragtime playing, is something I definitely need to work on, and yes, I do play Ragtime with no pedal sometimes - especially when I'm just practicing.