2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 7 invisible), 1,903 guests, and 253 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1353588 01/19/10 07:24 PM
J
JimL Offline OP
OP Offline
J
1. I'm not a proficient keyboardist. I flunked college music theory because the teacher said "play everything in this class or flunk." But I love to "mess around" at a keyboard and write stuff I eventually learn to play well. Such stuff as big voiced pipe organ pieces or mellow voiced trombone solos or ye olde Doxology or Mendelsson in piano.

2. I have an old Yamaha YS200 that badly needs to be put in the garbage, because although it plays very expressively it squeals with a relatively low volume but very high pitch (which I would probably say was very loud if I still had my 18 year old ears). I want to get something to replace it, but on everything I have touched - cheap or expensive - the built in instruments seem to me to sound cheap and tinny compared to the YS200. Therefore I want something I can construct my own voices with.

3. So far anyone I've talked to thinks I've lost my mind when I say "construct my own voices." Apparently in the world of keyboards as in the world of computers you are just "out of it" if you can't use exactly the right buzz-words when you ask for help. But while reading messages here I got the impression that this place is different.